Lisa Tucker Receives Three American Society of Interior Designers National Awards

Prof. Lisa Tucker, Chair of the Interior Design Program, is the recipient of three national honors from the American Society of Interior Designers (ASID).

She received this year’s Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit Award — This award pays tribute to the work and accomplishments of Nancy Vincent McLelland, an ardent advocate for professional recognition in the interior design field and the first woman president of the American Institute of Decorators (now ASID), from 1941 to 1944; the award honors individuals, organizations, manufacturers, or research projects for outstanding support of the interior design profession through education, research, promotion of the value of impact of interior design, or another significant contribution.

She is also the recipient of the annual Joel Polsky Prize, which recognizes outstanding academic contributions to interior design through print or digital communication; Tucker was honored for her book Sustainable Building Systems and Construction for Interiors.

In addition, she received the Educator Medalist Award, a distinguished honor from the society that recognizes members who have demonstrated outstanding service to their chapter, student chapters, and/or ASID, and/or provided significant contributions to the body of knowledge that supports the profession of interior design.

More info…