A+D Faculty Receive NCARB Prizes

Two teams from the School of Architecture + Design have received awards in the NCARB (National Council of Architectural Registration Boards) Prize competition:

Keith Zawistowski and Marie Zawistowski – the School of Architecture + Design’s first Professors of Practice – have won the 2011 NCARB Grand Prize for Creative Integration of Practice and Education in the Academy. The $25,000 prize is for their project “Designing Practice” and was awarded for its excellence in integrating practice and education. The project will be featured in the annual NCARB Prize publication. Keith and Marie will make a presentation about the project in June, 2011 at the NCARB Annual Meeting in Washington, DC.

The LumenHAUS team has also won a $7,500 NCARB Award for their project, “A Sustainable, Net Zero Energy Dwelling.” Professors Robert Dunay, Robert Schubert, Joe Wheeler, and Chip Clark were lead faculty members on this project.

More info…