New Modes: Fall 2020 Lecture Series

How do we make architecture today? That is the question the Fall 2020 Architecture Program Lecture Series in the School of Architecture + Design at Virginia Tech addresses. For New Modes of Practice we have invited a group of young practitioners working in new ways both in how they represent architecture and in how they redesign the relationship between practice, politics, society and criticism to share and discuss their work with us this fall. Our speakers for the fall all are moving beyond modes of design that dominated architecture during the late 1990’s and early 2000’s. They are less interested in technical mastery for its own sake and put more emphasis on political, social and critical ideas. The results are often astonishing and sometimes subtle, but always offer a new way to think about how architecture operates in our society.

Lectures will take place on Wednesdays, 7-8 PM (ET), and will be hosted and moderated by students. Debates, discussions and conversations, will continue in a special guest seminar following the lecture typically on Thursday, 2-3 PM (ET) (with exceptions noted below). All lectures and guest seminars will be via Zoom and zoom links will be circulated via email. All lectures and guest seminars will be recorded and made available at a future date in the semester.

The Fall Architecture Lecture Series is organized by the Architecture Program Lecture Series Committee comprised of Tim Cox, Aria Hill, Benjamin Sturkie and Pamela Sun, with the coordination and support of Professor Joseph Bedford.

Cruz Garcia & Nathalie Frankowski, WAI THINK TANK | Hosted by Aaron Betsky
Wed, Sept. 2, 7-8 PM (ET) w/ guest seminar discussion on Thurs, Sept. 3, 2-3 PM (ET)

Lecture Recording | Discussion Recording

Andrew Kovacs, OFFICE KOVACS | Hosted by Pamela Sun
Wed, Sept. 16, 7-8 PM (ET) w/ guest seminar discussion on Thurs, Sept. 17, 2-3 PM (ET)

Lecture Recording | Discussion Recording

Anna Neimark, FIRST OFFICE | Hosted by Pamela Sun
Wed, Sept. 23, 7-8 PM (ET) w/ guest seminar discussion on Thurs., Sept. 24, 2-3 PM (ET)

Lecture Recording | Discussion Link

Jerome Haferd and Brandt Knapp, BRANDT : HAFERD | Hosted by Aria Hill
Wed, Sept. 30, 7-8 PM (ET) w/ guest seminar discussion on Thurs, Oct. 1, 2-3 PM (ET)

Lecture Recording | Discussion Link

Ana Luisa Soares & Ahmed Belkhodja, ATELIER FALA | Hosted by Benjamin Sturkie
Wed, Oct. 7, 7-8 PM (ET) w/ guest seminar discussion on Thurs, Oct. 8, 2-3 PM (ET)

Lecture Recording | Discussion Link

Bryony Roberts, BRYONY ROBERTS STUDIO | Hosted by Stefan Al and Joseph Bedford
Wed, Oct. 14, 7-8 PM (ET) w/ guest seminar discussion on Fri, Oct. 16, 11-12 PM (ET)

Lecture Link | Discussion Link

Erin Besler, BESLER AND SONS | Hosted by Tim Cox
Wed, Oct. 21, 7-8 PM (ET) w/ guest seminar discussion on Thurs, Oct. 22, 12 – 1 PM (ET)

Lecture Recording | Discussion Recording

Zeina Koreitem & John May, MILLIØNS | Hosted by Aria Hill
Wed, Oct. 28, 7-8 PM (ET) w/ guest seminar discussion on Fri, Oct. 30, 1-2 PM (ET)

Lecture Recording | Discussion Recording

Mira Henry and Matthew Au, CURRENT INTERESTS | Hosted by Tim Cox
Wed, Nov. 4, 7-8 PM (ET) w/ guest seminar discussion on Thurs, Nov. 5, 2-3 PM (ET)

Seminar Link

Andrew Holder, The LADG | Hosted by Benjamin Sturkie
Wed, Nov. 11, 7-8 PM (ET) w/ guest seminar discussion on Thurs, Nov. 12, 2-3 PM (ET)

All videos will have the highest professional captioning made available and the links to view the videos will be listed above. If you require live captioning for any of the events please let us know 10 business days prior so we can accommodate you to the best of our abilities. To request live captioning please email Kelly Cooper (kellylc@vt.edu).